Council Members 2018-2023

Dr Rita Doyle Dr Rita Doyle, President Dr Doyle has been a General Practitioner for more than thirty years and has been a past president of the ICGP. Medical Member / Nominated by the Irish College of General Practitioners
Dr Anthony Breslin Dr Anthony Breslin, Vice President Dr Breslin is a specialist in Public Health Medicine (Communicable Diseases and Environmental Health) HSE - North West.  Medical Member / Elected (Public Health Medicine)
Dr. John Barragry Dr John Barragry Dr. Barragry is a Consultant Physician and a medical graduate of University College Dublin. His post-graduate medical qualifications include M.D. (NUI), FRCP (Lond.), FRCPI. Medical Member / Nominated by the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland
Ms Vicky Blomfield Ms Vicky Blomfield Ms Blomfield is Head of HIQA's quality function. She chairs the Appeals Panel on Regulatory judgments, which provides fair procedure to service providers who wish to challenge HIQA’s findings and judgments. Non Medical Member / HIQA Nomination
Mrs Teresa Bulfin Ms Teresa Bulfin Ms Bulfin is the Senior Operations Manager, HSE Mid West Mental Health Services. Non Medical Member / HSE Nomination
Dr Thomas Crotty Dr Thomas Crotty Dr Crotty is a consultant Histopathologist at St Vincent's University Hospital and UCD Associate Professor at the UCD School of Medicine. Medical Member / Elected (Pathology and Radiology)
Dr Suzanne Crowe Dr Suzanne Crowe Dr Crowe is a consultant in Paediatric Intensive Care Medicine at Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital, Crumlin (OLCHC). Medical Member / Elected (Anaesthesia)
Dr. Marcus De Brun Dr Marcus De Brun Dr De Brun is a General Practioner (GP) and Philosopher. He is a former member of the ICGP and the New Zealand College of General Practice. He has completed degrees in Science & English at CSU California, Microbiology at Trinity College Dublin, and Medicine at Royal College of Surgeons Ireland. He is an author, and has worked as a GP in North Dublin for 12yrs. He is presently studying Philosophy at the Brikbeck Institute, University of London.  Medical Member / Elected (not falling in any other category)
Lafaye Ms Mary Duff Ms Duff is a registered nurse and midwife and holds a Masters (Hons) in Business Administration, Healthcare Management, UCD. Non Medical Member / Ministerial re-appointed
Prof Fidelma Dunne Professor Fidelma Dunne Professor Dunne holds a Personal Professorship in Medicine and is currently Head of the School of Medicine at the National University of Ireland. In addition she is a Consultant Endocrinologist at Galway University Hospitals. Medical Member / Nominated by NUI Medical School
Mr John Glee Mr John Gleeson John Gleeson specialised in medical malpractice litigation and Non-Medical Member medical Law, Mental Health Law & Inquests. Non Medical Member / Ministerial Nominee
Mr Paul Harkin Mr Paul Harkin Mr Harkin is a science and business graduate with thirty years of experience in academic and pharmaceutical R&D environments, Paul Harkin is Director of Strategic Development at the UCD School of Medicine, a position he has held since 2006. Non Medical Member / Ministerial Nominee
Prof John Hyland Professor John Hyland Professor Hyland is a Consultant General/Colorectal Surgeon at St Vincent’s University Hospital, Dublin. He has been a member of the Council of the RCSI since 2002. Medical Member / Nominated by Med School RSCI
Prof Mary Leader Professor Mary Leader Professor Leader is a professor of Pathology/Consultant Histopathologist at Beaumont Hospital and RCSI and the chairperson of the Department of Pathology at RCSI with a special interest in Lymphoma and Soft Tissue Pathology.  Medical Member / Nominated by Med School RCSI
Ms Alison Lyndsey Ms Alison Lindsay Chair of the International Stewardship Board of L'Arche International and Mediator in Civil and Family matters Over 20 years of work as a Barrister at Law and a further 20 years of experience as a Circuit Court Judge. Non Medical Member / Ministerial Nominee
Ms Marina Lynch Professor Marina Lynch Dr Lynch from 1992-now: Department of Physiology, Trinity College, Dublin 2. (Lecturer) 1999 Associate Professor 2006 Director, Trinity College Institute of Neuroscience 2006 Personal Chair in Cellular Neuroscience. Non Medical Member / Nominated by the Royal Irish Academy
Dr Erica Maguire Dr Erica Maguire Dr Maguire is a NCHD currently on the Psychiatry Basic Specialist Training Scheme. Medical Member / Elected (not being consultant, practicing medicine in hospital)
Ms Catherine Mc Kenna Ms Catherine McKenna Ms McKenna is Director of Radiation Therapy Services at St Luke’s Radiation Oncology Network, Dublin. Non Medical Member / CORU Nomination
Dr Maeve Dr Maeve Moran Dr Moran is a General Adult Psychiatrist and an Honorary Senior Lecturer in Psychiatry with the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI). In addition, Dr Moran is an Associate Specialist of the Deans Clinics, St. Patrick’s University Hospital. Medical Member / Nominated by the College of Psychiatrists of Ireland
Dr Aoife Mullally Dr Aoife Mullally Dr Mullally is a consultant obstetrician and gynaecologist working at the Coombe Women and Infants University Hospital, Dublin and the Midland Regional Hospital, Portlaoise. Medical Member / Elected (Obs & Gynae)
Mr John Murray Mr John Murray Clinical nurse specialist in Community Mental Health, based at Waterford Mental Health Service.  John was the Clinical Nurse Manager Grade in Mental Health Nursing representative on An Bord Altranais in 2008.  He was the first Community Mental Health Nurse to be elected as Vice-President of An Bord Altranais.  In 2014, John was appointed as an Honorary Teaching Associate with the Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland. John has researched, lectured widely, and published on the subject of Intramuscular injections. Non-Medical Member  / Nominated by the NMBI
Mr Joe O Mr Joe O'Donovan

Mr O'Donovan is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland. He was CEO of Galway Clinic from 2012-2018. He was also Chairman of the Private Hospitals Association, the representative body for the independently-funded hospital sector in Ireland.

Non Medical Member / Nominated by Private Hospital Association
Mr Tom O'Higgins Mr Tom O'Higgins Mr O'Higgins is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland; he served on its Council from 1982 to 1993 and was President in 1991/92. Non Medical Member / Ministerial Nominee
Mr Jim O'Sullivan Mr Jim O'Sullivan Mr O'Sullivan is Director - Corporate Governance & Corporate Secretary, Office of the Director General, Health Service Executive. Non Medical Member / HSE Nomination
Prof Mary O'Sullivan Professor Mary O'Sullivan Professor O’Sullivan is a member of the Faculty of Education and Health Sciences, University of Limerick. Non Medical Member / Minister of Education and Skills Nominee