Medical Council logoComhairle na nDochtúirí Leighis | Medical Council

Specialist Training BodiesĀ 

All postgraduate training bodies must meet Medical Council postgraduate accreditation standards and criteria. There are over forty programmes of specialist training in Ireland that you can choose from, delivered by thirteen recognised training bodies, as follows:

College of Anaesthetists of Ireland
College of Psychiatrists of Ireland
Faculty of Occupational Medicine
Faculty of Paediatrics
Faculty of Pathology
Faculty of Public Health Medicine
Faculty of Radiologists
Faculty of Sports and Exercise Medicine
Institute of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists
Irish College of General Practitioners
Irish College of Ophthalmologists
Irish Committee for Higher Medical Training
Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

When you complete your programme of specialist training, you will be awarded a Certificate of Satisfactory Completion of Specialist Training by your training body, and be eligible to register and practice as a specialist in your chosen field.